by kiroshafeek

Users of Nokia 5800 express music (a touch phone of the Finnish company) may have experienced the gallery bug on their unit, wherein you can’t see the images or videos stored on the memory card by just pressing the image shortcut icon, but instead you need to go to the phone’s file manager in order to see the files. What a hassle! I got the latest firmware update on my phone but sadly it didn’t cure the disease.

There’s a trick wherein you can see the images/videos on the gallery. If you take a snapshot using your phone, then immediately go to the gallery, then viola the images/videos will be seen without even going to the file manager. But that’s just temporary. After a while if you exit the gallery, then click the image icon, you will not see again the images/videos from the memory card.

This bug may happen if you transfer files using your pc to your phone even using the proper software. I noticed that I got some weird files with weird extensions on my sound files under the “tones” of my memory card and I just can’t delete it–but it is not a virus.

Some songs are not added also to my music library. hmp!

Well, I sent an email to nokia, and the customer rep’s advice was for me to do a format, by pressing the *#7370# – the soft reset. I saw on forums too that this is what they did in order to remove the gallery bug.

So what I did was, I did a back-up of my phone/memory card using the nokia pc suite (everything, from settings, I just ticked/checked all the choices). Then I did the soft reset. Nothing. The bug is still present. Then I did the hard format/reset, by pressing the green, red, camera and power button at the same time. Then after that, the phone will let you choose your country. I did format my memory card too.

Then after the formatting is done, I installed my back up files using the PC suite again. Then, I reinstall my firmware again.

And yes, the image/video icon is now working. I can see all the pictures and videos from my memory card without going to the file manager. And the weird looking file with weird extensions are now gone. Plus, when I received a bluetooth file, if it a song , it is added automatically to my music library which did not work before. My dictionary is now working too.

I could have brought it to the nokia center because it is still under warranty, but sometimes you want to try to solve things on your own first, and I’m just glad that it did work for me.

I hope I’ll not experience this bug again. And I hope too that Nokia will release a new firmware with kinetic scrolling for nokia 5800 or a nice update.

PS. The 8GB memory card that comes with the unit is really buggy. You can buy another mmc if you do not want your files to be corrupted.

